Mrs Pettigrew’s Famous Lemon Cake

When we lived in England, we lived in Clapham, in South London. On the edge of Clapham Common, there was our favourite tea place, called Tea Time. It was owned by Mrs Pettigrew who did marvelous cakes and tarts. My favourite cake was her lemon cake, the recipe of which she published in a book, called Jane Pettigrew’s Tea Time.

I must have baked the Tea Time lemon cake at least a hundred times, and it gets better all the time.

lemons.jpg

This cake should be really lemony and moist, so if the lemons you buy are not very juicy use an extra one.

3 untreated lemons

45 ml caster sugar for the topping

100 g margarine or butter, softened

175 g caster sugar2 large eggs, beaten

175 g self raising flour

90 ml milk

Heat the oven to 170º C and grease and line an 18 cm round tin or a 900 g loaf tin.Grate 2 of the lemons and juice all 3. Put the lemon juice in a bowl with the 45 ml sugar for the topping and stand in a warm place until needed. The top of the oven is ideal. The sugar should dissolve and form a syrup with the juice.Cream the fat and sugar together until very light and fluffy. Add the eggs, a little at a time, beating thoroughly between each addition. Add the grated lemon rind and the flour and beat hard. Finally, add the milk and beat again.

Pour into the prepared tin and bake for 1 hour until golden and well risen. Remove from the oven and immediately prick the top in 3 to 4 places. Pour the lemon juice and sugar syrup at once all over the hot cake so that the entire top is covered.Leave the cake in the tin until quite cold, so that all the juice will be absorbed by the sponge. Then, turn out and wrap the cake in foil until needed, to keep it fresh.

Enjoy.

8 thoughts on “Mrs Pettigrew’s Famous Lemon Cake

  1. Mariyam Ayub says:

    Wow wow wow! I followed the recipe exactly and I tell you, my place was redolent with the fresh smell of lemons and the cake turned out to be ummmmmmmm! Delicious! Thanks a million!

  2. Mike says:

    I’ve made this cake for years… it is flawless, impossible to screw up, and everyone loves it. I hate hate hate to bake…although I am trying to add pie crust to my accomplishments….. this cake is so easy… If I can make it, any trained monkey can do it too! Love, Cheetah

  3. Mike says:

    p.s. Mariyam Ayub … redolent … WHAT A WONDERFUL word … I’ll be making it mine, if you don’t mind! : )

  4. Sally says:

    The mother of a friend used to bake this cake for me in south London about 20 years ago. One day she did screw it up, and it turned out with some soft bits and some crunchy and absolutely delicious. Unfortunately she didn’t know what she did wrong so we never got that effect again. I now make it myself and it is a rampant success with everyone. Take it to a party. You will not see another plate clear so fast.

  5. Linda King says:

    Could you convert the measurements for us Americans that don’t use the metric system? Ha Ha! And what is “caster” sugar? Thanks!
    Linda

  6. michael weber says:

    I am not a cook, a baker, or even a candlestick maker. Even I can make this cake and it turns out perfect everytime! Michael, New Orleans.

  7. gaiabathtime says:

    That was my favorite place in the world when I lived in Clapham in 1985! I have their cookbook and the page for the famous Lemon cake looks really worse for wear as the kids have baked that cake so many times over the years. My youngest (now 20) called the other day from Italy especially requesting that recipe!

  8. Michael Weber says:

    Y’all! Best recipe ever!

Leave a comment